Welcome to Outreachy!

First of all let me introduce myself. I am Yolanda Andrea Alvarez Pérez. I am from Puebla, México. I major in Computer Science in Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla. I was accepted in the Outreachy program with the project Spanish Translation and Guidelines for GNOME.

In my first entry in this blog I would like to talk about the importance of Open Source projects since there are not so popular like the privative software (at least not in Mexico), and one of the reasons, I think, is because the majority of the Open Source projects are in English. According to the EF English Proficiency Index, Mexico is in the 40th position in this ranking, wich means that less than the half of the Mexico’s population know English.

This is why the importance of this Outreachy project, although I am speaking only for Mexico, there are other countries that speak Spanish. Translate GNOME’s projects is very important because it helps to expand the use of Open Source programs in Spanish speaking countries.

I want to conclude saying that this is my first blog, so I hope I could improve my future entries. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

